Karte.ro
Categorii
Acces clienti
  
Stoc anticariat
ce trebuie reconfirmat

Eskkar & Trella - The Beginning

Descriere: Eskkar & Trella - The Beginning (645 pages) - is the latest novel in Sam Barone's five part series, a bronze age historical saga in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Jean Auel. In Dawn of Empire, Eskkar the warrior and Trella the keen-witted slave girl come together in a mighty struggle to survive a barbarian invasion and build mankind's first walled city. But Eskkar's story began many years earlier, when his family was brutally murdered in a blood feud. His name and heritage obliterated, young Eskkar flees his clan and the only life he knows. Condemned as an outcast, he learns to survive, hunted by his own kind, and hated and feared by all others. For fifteen years, Eskkar wanders the Land Between The Rivers, home of his hereditary enemies, fighting to stay alive and to reach manhood. All the while he is learning the skills that will one day make him not only a true warrior, but a leader of men on and off the battlefield. Trella, too, witnesses her family destroyed in a single night of vengeance, and her life of ease and privilege lost. Captured and sold to a slave trader, she must use her keen mind, extraordinary perception, and perfect memory to regain control of her life. While appearing to serve her masters, Trella learns to manipulate the powerful men who now own her body. Soon she becomes the unseen influence whose knowledge and training guide the way to the founding of an empire. Eskkar and Trella join together and form a unique bond that enables them to overcome the limits their world has placed upon them. These are the stories of their journeys toward one another and to their shared destiny - an enduring love that changes civilization forever. Other books by Sam Barone
Dawn of Empire (483 pages) - Eskkar and Trella's rise to power, the building of the great wall to defend against a barbarian invasion, and the first steps on the road to civilization and empire.
Empire Rising (465 pages) - Continues the story of the struggles to save mankind's first walled city. Eskkar's city of Akkad is captured by enemies within the city, and his pregnant wife is forced to kneel at the feet of her new master. Eskkar returns to save his city, new-born son, and his only love.
Quest For Honour (618 pages) - The rise of city states in the Land Between The Rivers brings a new enemy and threat to the city of Akkad. Eskkar and Trella must build the world's first professional army in a desperate effort to save their city from a Sumerian invasion. Available in UK as Conflict of Empires / Quest For Honour.
Battle For Empire - available Summer 2012. More than thirteen years have passed since the war with the Sumerians. Now a vastly more powerful foreign invader threatens the entire Land Between The Rivers. Eskkar, Trella, and the city of Akkad must overcome this new conqueror. At the same time, they must find a way to win back their rebellious son Sargon, whose wild and dangerous behavior threatens his parents' rule and even his future kingdom.

Recomanda unui prieten Printeaza

Alte carti de Sam Barone (Author)

Bookmark and Share

Autori: Sam Barone (Author) | Editura: LIGHTNING SOURCE INC | Anul aparitiei: 2012 | ISBN: 9780615511757 | Categorie: Diverse  

  

Adauga comentariu


Trebuie sa fii logat pentru a adauga un comentariu. Access cont sau Creare cont nou

  

Karte.ro va recomanda:

The God Virus.How religion infects our

Pret: 75,00 RON

Darrel W. Ray , Ed.D.

The God Virus.How religion infects our lives and culture.

What makes religion so powerful? How does it weave its way into our political system? Why do people believe and follow obvious religious charlatans? What makes people profess deep faith even as they act in ways that betray that faith? What makes people blind to the irrationalities of their religion yet clearly see those of others? If these questions interest you, this book will give you the tools to understand religion and its power in you, your family and your culture. For thousands of years, religion has woven its way through societies and people as if it were part and parcel to that society or person. In large measure it was left unexplained and unchallenged, it simply existed. Those who attempted to challenge and expose religion were often persecuted, excommunicated, shunned, or even executed. It could be fatal to explain that which the church, priest or imam said was unexplainable. Before the germ, viral and parasite theory of disease, physicians had no tools to understand disease and its propagation. Priests told people disease was a result of sin, Satan, evil spirits, etc. With the discovery of microbial actors, scientists gained new tools to study how it spreads. They could ...

  

The Grand Design.

Pret: 97,00 RON

Stephen Hawking

The Grand Design.

When and how did the universe begin? Why are we here? What is the nature of reality? Is the apparent 'grand design' of our universe evidence for a benevolent creator who set things in motion? Or does science offer another explanation? In "The Grand Design", the most recent scientific thinking about the mysteries of the universe is presented, in language marked by both brilliance and simplicity. "The Grand Design" explains the latest thoughts about model-dependent realism (the idea that there is no one version of reality), and about the multiverse concept of reality in which there are many universes. There are new ideas about the top-down theory of cosmology (the idea that there is no one history of the universe, but that every possible history exists). It concludes with a riveting assessment of m-theory, and discusses whether it is the unified theory Einstein spent a lifetime searching for. This is the first major work in nearly a decade by one of the world's greatest thinkers. A succinct, startling and lavishly illustrated guide to discoveries that are altering our understanding and threatening some of our most cherished belief systems, "The Grand Design" is a book that will ...

  

Arguing with Idiots.How to Stop Small

Pret: 119,00 RON

Glenn Beck , Kevin Balfe

Arguing with Idiots.How to Stop Small Minds and Big Government.

The next time your Idiot Friends tell you how gun control prevents gun violence, you'll tell them all about England's handgun ban (see page 53). When they tell you that we should copy the UK's health-care system, you'll recount the horrifying facts you read on page 244. And the next time an idiot tells you that vegetable prices will skyrocket without illegal workers, you'll stop saying "no, they won't" and you'll start saying, "actually, eliminating all illegal labor will cause us to spend just $8 a year more on produce." (See page 139.) Idiots can't be identified through voting records, they can be found only by looking for people who hide behind stereotypes, embrace partisanship, and believe that bumper sticker slogans are a substitute for common sense. If you know someone who fits the bill, then Arguing with Idiots will help you silence them once and for all with the ultimate weapon: the truth.

  
Viziteaza magazinul Karte.ro pe ShopMania Acceptance Mark