Karte.ro
Categorii
Acces clienti
  
Pret: 78,00 RON
Disponibil in 14 zile!

River of Destiny

Descriere: From the bestselling author of Time's Legacy and Lady of Hay comes a thrilling new novel, River of Destiny, an epic story that spans Anglo Saxon Britain, Victorian Suffolk and the present day. Perfect for fans of Kate Mosse's Labyrinth.

Page dim. 174 x 200 x 31

Weight: 350 grams

Recomanda unui prieten Printeaza

Alte carti de Erskine Barbara

Bookmark and Share

Autori: Erskine Barbara | Editura: HarperCollins Publishers | Anul aparitiei: 2013 | ISBN: 9780007302321 | Numar de pagini: 496 | Categorie: History  

  

Adauga comentariu


Trebuie sa fii logat pentru a adauga un comentariu. Access cont sau Creare cont nou

  

Karte.ro va recomanda:

Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of

Pret: 109,00 RON

Zuckoff, Mitchell

Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of Survival and a Modern Quest for Lost Heroes of World War II

#1 New York Times bestseller Frozen in Time is a gripping true story of survival, bravery, and honor in the vast Arctic wilderness during World War II, from the author of New York Times bestseller Lost in Shangri-La.On November 5, 1942, a US cargo plane slammed into the Greenland Ice Cap. Four days later, the B-17 assigned to the search-and-rescue mission became lost in a blinding storm and also crashed. Miraculously, all nine men on board survived, and the US military launched a daring rescue operation. But after picking up one man, the Grumman Duck amphibious plane flew into a severe storm and vanished.Frozen in Time tells the story of these crashes and the fate of the survivors, bringing vividly to life their battle to endure 148 days of the brutal Arctic winter, until an expedition headed by famed Arctic explorer Bernt Balchen brought them to safety. Mitchell Zuckoff takes the reader deep into the most hostile environment on earth, through hurricane-force winds, vicious blizzards, and subzero temperatures.Moving forward to today, he recounts the efforts of the Coast Guard and North South Polar Inc. - led by indefatigable dreamer Lou Sapienza - who worked for years to solve the ...

  

Woman in the Wilderness: Letters of

Pret: 153,00 RON

Nancy L. Bunge

Woman in the Wilderness: Letters of Harriet Wood Wheeler, Missionary Wife, 18321892

"Woman in the Wilderness" is a collection of letters written between 1832 and 1892 to and by an American woman, Harriet Wood Wheeler. Harriet's letters reveal her experiences with actors and institutions that played pivotal roles in the history of American women: the nascent literate female work force at the mills in Lowell, Massachusetts; the Ipswich Female Seminary, which was one of the first schools for women teachers; women's associations, especially in churches; and the close and enduring ties that characterized women's relationships in the late nineteenth century. Harriet's letters also provide an intimate view of the relationships between American Indians and Euro-Americans in the Great Lakes region, where she settled with her Christian missionary husband."

  

Whores of Babylon: Catholicism Gender

Pret: 248,00 RON

Frances E. Dolan

Whores of Babylon: Catholicism Gender and Seventeenth Centu

In Whores of Babylon, Frances E. Dolan offers a perceptive study of the central role that Catholics and Catholicism played in early modern English law, literature, and politics. She contends that despite sharing the same blood, origins, and history as their Protestant antagonists, Catholics provoked more prolific and intemperate visual and verbal representation, and more elaborate and sustained legal regulation, than any other marginal group in seventeenth-century England. This careful and thorough study examines legal and literary representations of the "Catholic menace" during three crises in Protestant/Catholic relations, from the Gunpowder Plot (1605) to the Popish Plot and Meal Tub Plot (1678-80). It also offers the first sustained analysis of the extent to which gender issues informed both Catholicism and anti-Catholicism in the early modern period. Available for the first time in paperback, this book will appeal to scholars and students of early modern England, Catholic history, and gender studies.

  
Viziteaza magazinul Karte.ro pe ShopMania Acceptance Mark